Governance

Council

The council is an elected body responsible for the administration of programs and services with the help of the administration staff.  Programs include housing, health, education, environmental issues and cultural events. Additional responsibilities of the council include participation in consultation and negotiations regarding land, title, treaty and other legal matters related to the traditional territory, rights and resources of the Gitsegukla First Nation.  Council is also responsible for the conduct and oversight of resource and infrastructure development, business development opportunities, partnerships and sustainability activities.

Council Members

Willie Blackwater
Willie Blackwater
Chief
willie.blackwater@gitsegukla.net
Victoria Russell
Victoria Russell
Deputy Chief
victoria.russell@gitsegukla.net
Darlene Russell
Darlene Russell
Council Member
darlene.russell@gitsegukla.net
Jennifer Howard
Jennifer Howard
Council Member
jennifer.howard@gitsegukla.net
Roxane Alexcee
Roxane Alexcee
Council Member
roxane.alexcee@gitsegukla.net
Brian Wesley
Brian Wesley
Council Member
brian.wesley@gitsegukla.net
Noel Argueta
Noel Argueta
Council Member
noel.argueta@gitsegukla.net
Morris Williams
Morris Williams
Council Member
morris.williams@gitsegukla.net
Arthur Sampare
Arthur Sampare
Council Member
arthur.sampare@gitsegukla.net