Governance

Council

The council is an elected body responsible for the administration of programs and services with the help of the administration staff.  Programs include housing, health, education, environmental issues and cultural events. Additional responsibilities of the council include participation in consultation and negotiations regarding land, title, treaty and other legal matters related to the traditional territory, rights and resources of the Gitsegukla First Nation.  Council is also responsible for the conduct and oversight of resource and infrastructure development, business development opportunities, partnerships and sustainability activities.

Council Members

2021-2024 Elected Council

Chief

Annie Howard
anne.howard@gitsegukla.net

Deputy Chief

Randy Russell
randy.russell@gitsegukla.net

Councillor

Mel Aksidan
mel.aksidan@gitsegukla.net

Councillor

Jennifer Gladstone-Howard
jen.gladstone@gitsegukla.net

Councillor

Thelma Marsden
thelma.marsden@gitsegukla.net

Councillor

Crystal Smith
crystal.smith@gitsegukla.net

Councillor

Julia Walker
julia.walker@gitsegukla.net

Councillor

Brian Wesley Sr
brian.wesley@gitsegukla.net

Councillor

Wendy Wesley
wendy.wesley@gitsegukla.net